And now for something completely different, part II

What’s this funny wheel doing on my 911 ?
DSC_3515

It’s a space saver spare wheel from a 944. Made from aluminum, it’s probably the best looking spare wheel ever. So good looking, it has already a following among the 356 rat rod community.

burnt orange I.M.
But how did it ended up here ? Well, last Sunday I entered my first time regularity rally, and right on the first 10 minutes, a surplus of enthusiasm sent me right into a small ditch. Fortunately, only my pride and the front left wheel were damaged. But… I was not carrying a spare, only a useless gas can…

DSC_3520

Alas, the gods were smiling on me. 200 meters away, a marshall was standing by next to his Porsche 944 ! He readily offered his spare and 30 minutes later we were “flying” again.

As for the rally, I loved the experience, so I will be back for more. The organization, by Mafraclassicos, was almost spotless despite being all volunteers. First place went to the gentleman in the Audi quattro…

DSC_3513

Second place to this beautiful Renault Turbo II…

DSC_3507

And the next ones I can’t recall, but they were stunning to look at…

DSC_3518

DSC_3505

Leave a comment

Filed under Classic, Motorsport, porsche, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

