Autoworld Brussels

Having been in Brussels recently with a few hours to kill before taking the flight home, I decided to head for the Autoworld auto museum. I already knew it from a couple of years ago, but lacking a better option, I went again.

The museum is set amidst the agreeable Parq du Cinquantenaire, built to celebrate the first 50 years of the Belgian nation. The museum building, along with the opposite one, was built at the same time specifically to house exhibits and collections. It’s a big, airy, iron and stone building typical of the Victorian era, albeit in Brussels. As it turned out, my time was well spent, as there were some notable new exhibits since my last time. For today, I’ll just go over the more exotic Porsche related stuff. Note – I only had my Iphone available, so the pictures quality is just about acceptable…

First was this magnificent 904 GTS. They’re really gorgeous when seen in the flesh, and tiny !

IMG_1714

There was a 550 Spyder, set amidst a period garage.

IMG_1749

A Vasek Polak 935, but sadly, in a state of some disrepair… flat tires, etc.

IMG_1763

Then I struck gold, as for the first time I came to see one of my favourite racing Porsches and liveries of all time: A Kremer 934 with the turquoise Vaillant livery ! Fortunately, it was in a really good condition and I just stood there for some minutes trying to soak up the details…

IMG_1767

Notice the built-in jack pads, fixed to the regular jacking points. Curiously, the door cards had the switches for electric windows, but I suppose the motors were removed.

IMG_1764

Unfortunately I missed (by a few months, it ended in January) a big Porsche exhibit titled “The heritage, From electric to electric”. It was a pity, as all the landmark racing cars were present, plus a 918 and the Lohner-Porsche, hence from electric to electric… All I could see was this diaporama of the exhibit.

IMG_1747

IMG_1746

And now for the true cognoscienti, a cutaway of the fuel distributor for a Bosch KE-Jetronic injection, as installed on a Mercedes engine.

IMG_1720

Finally after leaving, I noticed some people having a nice meal in the sky, courtesy of Dinner in the Sky.

IMG_1784

Leave a comment

Filed under Classic, Design, Motorsport, porsche, Travel

Leave a Reply

